2016 Nelson Fringe Award Winners


Best Actor (female):

Ingrid Saker- Where the Wild Woman Is, by Pat-A-Cake Productions


Best Actor (male):

Charles Anderson- Hot Chocolate and the Trail's End, by Laura Irish 

Raven Horse Productions


Best Direction:

Jimmy Sutcliffe- Receiver, by Hank of Thread


Best Design:

Koru Sakura Theatre Group for Japanese Love Tales


Best Script:

Hadley Taylor for Swimming with Whales in Tonga, Skeleton Crew

Runner up: Laura Irish for Hot Chocolate and the Trail's End


Edgiest Show:

Where the Wild Woman Is, Pat-a-Cake Productions


Best Solo Show:

Attention Seeker by Gerard Harris

Runner up: Blown Away by Michael Armstrong


Audience Favourite:

Bananaruma, by Dawn Marron, Wag the Dog Productions


Fringe Director's Special Commendation:

Coming of Age: Double Feature

The Story of How I Became Me..., by Georgina Sivier

Scumbag, by AJ Murtagh


Best of Fringe:

An Evening with Gary Starlight, by Jeff Clark

Award Categories

Best Actor (female), Best Actor (male), Best Direction, Best Script, Best Design, Best Solo Show, Audience Favourite, Edgiest Show and Best of Fringe

2015 winners:

Best Actor (female), Sarah Tuck; Best Actor (male), Nick Kemplen; Best Direction, Bridget Sanders; Best Design, Carnivale of Delights; Edgiest Show, 'The Things We Do,' Pat-a-Cake Productions; Best Solo Show, 'MadLove,' Gareth Edwards; Audience Favourite, 'Same Same Different,' Jerome Chandrahasen.

Best of Fringe, 'MadLove,' Gareth Edwards;

Fringe awards are decided by a judging panel and audience votes. You can have your say by filling in a voting slip when you attend the 2017 Nelson Fringe Festival. Find the Voting Box in our foyer and get voting! 2017 awards will be announced Sun 7th May.


The Process

Laura Irish, Daniel Allan and Hadley Taylor (Best Script Winner)

Laura, a little bit reluctant to actually hand over the award...  

© 2019 Nelson Fringe

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

Fringe dates: August 14-22 2020